Tags

, , , ,

floral journal

I love having a few journals lying around to jot down notes, to do lists, bits of inspiration, quotes to remember, and the like. I have a mini journal in my purse/backpack every where I go, and a larger one on my nightstand in my apartment. My last journal was all filled up, so I decided to get crafty and hand paint some cheap solid colored journals I picked up at Target (they come in a three pack). It’s really simple, just pick a design you want to add to your journal- I did a floral motif on one and a locust on another. I find it easier to try and replicate an image than create something entirely new, for those of you who are not master artists. I was inspired by a floral calendar and one of my favorite statement necklaces in my jewelry box. All you need is some acrylic paint and some good (thin!) brushes and you can take a boring old notebook and make it look like an expensive journal that you could buy at Papyrus for an arm and a leg.

I think this would be a great handmade Valentine’s Day gift for your friend, sister, or mom. Write one of your favorite quotes on the inside cover! One of my favorites is from St. Therese of Lisieux- “You ask me a method of attaining perfection. I know of love, and only love. Love can do all things” Perfect for a sweet little Valentine’s Day message to a loved one and a great daily reminder to live your life with love!

